Santa Barbara Book and Author Festival Saturday September 29, 2007-10:00 am - 5:00 pm-Santa Barbara Central Public Library --ALL EVENTS ARE FREE!

Ross Macdonald Literary Award

This year's award goes to James Ellroy. Tickets are available at UCSB Arts and Lectures

Past winners include;
Ray Bradbury
Dean Koontz
Sue Grafton
Mark Salzman
Robert Crais

Luis Leal Award for Distinction in Chicano/Latino Literature

This annual award is named after Prof. Luis Leal, a major literary critic of Latin American, Mexican,and Chicano Literature. He was one of the early scholarly champions of the concept of Chicano literature. Since his retirement from the Univ. of Illinois, Leal has been a major presence at UCSB andin the Santa Barbara community. The Leal Award is presented to a Chicano/Latino writer in the United States whose body of work has achieved national and international reputation.

This year's award goes to Patricia Mora.

Past recipients are:

2007 - Alejandro Morales
2006 - Helena Maria Viramontes
2005 - Denise Chavez
2004 - Rudolfo Anaya
2003 - Oscar Hijuelos

Glenna Luschei Distinguised Poet Fellowship

This year's award goes to Gerald Locklin.